The National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc., Columbia (SC) Chapter is pleased to announce its recent induction of new members for 2021.

Among the newly installed members are Catherine Chiles, Keonya Johnson, Cheryl King, Stephanie McMillan, Brittany Mims, Maxine Moses-Adams and Cherie Reese.

According to Chapter President Mary Miller McClellan, “ we are extremely pleased to welcome these talented new members to join us in our pursuit of advocacy, education and empowerment for Black women and girls of the Midlands.”

The National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. is a national organization that is comprised of thousands of progressive women of African descent, who represent 62 chapters in 26 states and the District of Columbia and whose commitment to gender equity and socioeconomic advancement drives meaningful change to benefit women of color. The organization was founded in New York City in 1970 in an effort to continue the successful implementation of socio-economic and political strategies that began in the mid-1960s.

The Columbia (SC) Chapter of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. was chartered in 2014. Subsequent to a study of its demographics, numerous critical service issues were identified in the Midlands in leadership development and gender equity in the areas of health, education, mentoring and economic empowerment, for which the chapter developed programs to address the identified needs of women and girls of African descent. The vision of the organization is to see black women and girls live in a world where socio-economic inequity does not exist.

As the chapter pursues its mission, it has subsequently built several impressive collaborative partnerships within the Columbia community, among which include: The 100 Black Men of Greater Columbia, WA Perry Middle School, Community Health Assistance Team (CHAT), Carolina Panorama,

Millennium Magazine, Antioch Senior Center, Women’s Rights and Empowerment Network (WREN), Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Upsilon Omega Omega Chapter, Allen University, Benedict Collge, AMARA Community Foundation, South Kilbourne Elementary School’s WEP and YEP Program, SC Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), SC Black Legislative Caucus, SC Representative James Clyburn, the Office of Governor Henry McMaster, Historic Columbia and Richland One School District.

For additional information, please visit the chapter’s website at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.